home about governance contact links
Recently completed courses:

  Centre for TB Research Innovation Courses:
  Recently completed courses:
    CRRS Course
  Lung Clinical Research Unit Courses:
  Recently completed courses:
    TCC Course
    Smoking Cessation Symposium
    Physiology Symposium
    Sleep Course
  Lung Clinical Research Unit upcoming meetings:
    Academic Respiratory Society & UCT Lung Institute
  Lung Infection &
Immunity Unit:
  Recently completed courses:
    MDR / XDR-TB
    XDR-TB course
    GCP Training the
trainers workshops
Pulmonology Course
  Lung Infection and
Immunity Unit Studies:
    Collabrative Studies
and funding


Dr Richard N van Zyl-Smit
Head of Lung Clinical Research (Principal Investigator)

Dr van Zyl-Smit is a specialist physician (2005) and pulmonologist (2007), and has a PhD (UCT 2011) on the effects of tobacco smoke on human immune responses to tuberculosis. He has both laboratory and clinical research experience; studies of novel TB diagnostic tests, more than 20 clinical trials of treatments for airways diseases. In 2011 he undertook a postdoctoral research fellowship at the Public Health Research Institute in New York, USA headed by Professor Gilla Kaplan. In January 2012 he was appointed as Deputy Head of the Lung Clinical Research Unit in the Lung Institute, and in 2013 became Head of the Lung Clinical Research Unit. His research interests include asthma and COPD, tuberculosis and tobacco dependence.. He is the head of the Smoking Cessation service at Groote Schuur Hospital Respiratory Clinic and directs the Adolescent Respiratory Service. He has over 30 publications in peer review journal, is chairman of the South African Thoracic Society Scholarship selection committee and an active member of the American and South African Thoracic Societies.

Emeritus Professor Eric D Bateman
Director of the UCT Lung Institute (Principal Investigator)

Professor Bateman is the Director and Founder of the University of Cape Town Lung Institute, Emeritus Professor of Medicine at the University of Cape Town, a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians, a Life Fellow of the University of Cape Town. His research interests include the pharmacology and management of asthma, chronic obstructive airways disease and tuberculosis, and community-based interventions to improve the care of patients with chronic respiratory diseases, and he has been an investigator in more than 150 clinical trials.
Professor Bateman has an A-rating from the National Research Foundation of South Africa and has authored more than 250 publications. Honours include a Honorary Fellowship of the South African Thoracic Society, Fellowship in the Art and Science of Medicine from the South African Medical Association, the South African Medical Research Council Lifetime Achievement Award (Platinum Medal), the President’s Award from the European Thoracic Society for his global contribution to Respiratory Medicine, the Alan Pifer Award from the University of Cape Town for outstanding welfare-related research, Honorary Life Fellowship of the South African Thoracic Society and Honorary Membership of the Primary Care Respiratory Group (United Kingdom). He is member of the Academy of Science of South African, the Board and Science Committee of the Global Initiative for Asthma and has served as President of the South African Thoracic Society (three terms), and on the Executive of the Global Alliance Against Chronic Respiratory Diseases and Allergy (GARD). He serves on the editorial or advisory boards of several international journals, including Thorax, European Respiratory Journal, Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, Therapeutic Advances in Respiratory Disease, BioMed Central: Pulmonary Medicine, the South African Respiratory Journal and the Primary Care Respiratory Journal.

Specialist Pulmonologists:
Associate Professor Gillian Ainslie
Associate Professor Paul Willcox
Dr. Richard I Raine
Dr. Brian Allwood (Pulmonologist and Research Fellow)
Dr. Greg Calligaro (Pulmonologist and Research Fellow)

Dr. Mary Bateman (Clinical Trials Manager)
Dr. Jeanette Holtzhausen (Clinical Investigator)
Dr. Aliasgar Esmail (Physician)

Senior Professional Nurse and Study Co-ordinator
Sr. Cecilia Wilson

Clinical Technologists in Pulmonology and
Study Co-ordinators

Mrs Helena Olckers
Ms Banzi Bam
Ms Nolubabalo Tsutsu
Ms La-Donna Kapa

Laboratory Technologist and Study Co-ordinator
Ms Sandra Hood

Mrs Colleen Whitelaw

Secretarial and administration
Mrs Ursula Hannibal (Assistant to Prof Bateman)
Mrs Patricia Carstens (Financial and contracts administrator)
Mrs Jacqueline de Wet (Trials unit Administrator)
Sr. Moira Mitchell (Archiving assistant)

Mrs Rayhana Gardee (Radiographer, part-time)

Dr. David Carman (Information Technology Consultant)